Official Online Store
Game of the Week 4-25-14
(Photo by George Mason Athletics)
Men's Basketball Opens Inaugural Atlantic 10 Season at VCU
Courtesy: George Mason Athletics
Release: 09/05/2013

Send this article to a friend Print RSS

FAIRFAX, Va. - The Atlantic 10 released their conference schedule for the 13 team league for the 2013-2014 season, along with the match-ups that will be televised as part of the conference’s national television package. The Patriots’ 16-game conference slate will feature 10 televised games, including six on NBCSN, two on CBS Sports Network, as well as two additional games produced and distributed to regional sports networks.

“Our players and staff are all extremely excited about the inaugural Atlantic 10 season,” said coach Paul Hewitt. “While we are not overlooking the competitive non-conference schedule we have, we do realize that we have a great challenge ahead of us when the A-10 schedule kicks off. Once again, we will be playing one of the most competitive non-conference schedules in the country and it will prepare us well for our competitive conference slate.”

The Patriots’ official entrance into the A-10 will be against a familiar foe, the VCU Rams on Thursday, January 9 at the Siegel Center in Richmond. The contest will be aired on CBS Sports Network with a 7 p.m. tipoff for the lone meeting between the squads this season.

The first action at the Patriot Center will feature Saint Joseph’s on Saturday, Jan. 11, for an evening tilt at 8:00 p.m. A home contest against the Minutemen of Massachusetts will follow on Wednesday, Jan. 15. Mason will travel to Amherst a month later on February 12, as part of the home-and-home series for 2013-14.

George Washington, the closest opponent and potential for a cross-the-river rivalry, will visit the Patriot Center in the first game of the home-and-home series on Saturday, Jan. 25 at Noon. Mason will then travel across the Potomac on Sunday, March 2 for an afternoon game at 2:00 p.m. NBCSN will air both contests.

Mason will play 2013 Atlantic 10 Champion Saint Louis twice, heading first to Missouri on Saturday, February 1 for a 2:30 p.m. game against the Billikens. Saint Louis, who earned a No. 4 seed in the NCAA tournament last March, will make the return trip to the Patriot Center on Wednesday, Feb. 19 at 7:00 p.m. Both games will have television coverage on NBCSN.

George Mason will host St. Bonaventure for Homecoming on Saturday, Feb. 15.  Festivities for Homecoming weekend will be announced at a later date.

All 13 teams will advance to the 2014 Atlantic 10 Men's Basketball Championship at Barclays Center in Brooklyn, N.Y. There will be an opening round game Wednesday, March 12 with first round games being played on Thursday, March 13. The winners of those four games will advance to the quarterfinal round, which will be produced by NBCSN on Friday, March 14. Semifinal games will be played on CBS Sports Network on Saturday, March 15 and the finals on NCAA Selection Sunday, March 16 at 1:00 p.m., which will air live on CBS Sports.

In addition, the Patriots’ non-conference game against Penn at home on January 2 will be aired on NBCSN as part of the A-10 television deal. Mason will also broadcast several games on MASN, the official cable partner of Mason for the past seven seasons, which will be announced at a later date.

Date Opponent Time Notes
Thurs., Jan. 9 at VCU 7:00 pm CBSSN
Sat., Jan. 11 Saint Joseph's 8:00 pm CBSSN
Wed., Jan. 15 Massachusetts 7:00 pm  
Sat., Jan. 18 at Rhode Island 12:30 pm NBCSN
Wed., Jan. 22 at Fordham TBD  
Sat., Jan. 25 George Washington 12:00 pm NBCSN
 Sat., Feb. 1 at Saint Louis 2:30 pm NBCSN
 Wed., Feb. 5 Dayton TBD  
 Sat., Feb. 8 at Duquesne TBD  
 Wed., Feb. 12 at Massachusetts TBD  
 Sat., Feb. 15 St. Bonaventure TBD  
 Wed., Feb. 19 Saint Louis 7:00 pm NBCSN
 Wed., Feb. 26 Richmond 7:00 pm  
 Sun., March 2 at George Washington 2:00 pm NBCSN
Thurs., March 6 at La Salle 8:00 pm NBCSN
 Sat., March 8 Duquesne TBD  

advertisement

Twitter
Facebook